The Grey-rumped Treeswifts of Bishan Park (Part 2)

Contributed by Jensen Seah.

After reading the Burung Singapura’s post on the Grey-rumped Treeswifts at Bishan Park, I went to look for my images of these treeswifts taken there early this year. I think they will add to the nesting behavior of these treeswifts here.

Grey Rumped Treeswift male 21 Mar 15 - Bishan Park nesting 3

I stumbled on this male guarding the newly laid egg on the 20th March 2015. This photo was taken the next day and you can see the egg was almost hanging out the tiny nest. In fact you can hardly see the nest if not for the egg. I really wonder how the parents were able to keep it in the nest when the the branch start swaying on a windy day. Incubating the egg must be a very delicate juggling act. I went back 2 weeks later and the parents were still incubating the egg. At least we know that incubation takes more than 2 weeks. Unfortunately I was not able to check the hatching later on.

Grey-rumped Treeswift 13 June 15 - Bishan Park 3

This was another nesting at another part of the park. Taken on 13th June, the chick looked like close to fledging but I was not able to tell how old this chick was. A week later it had moved out of the nest. I like to think it may had just fledged the day or two before and not predated. I could not find it around the following week.

Grey-rumped Treeswift 13 June 15 - Bishan Park 4

The same chick taken on the same day. The wings were still not fully formed. It must have moved along the branch to get a feel of the surrounding. Based on the dates, this may be the sub-adult that Seng Alvin photographed recently at the park. I hope my ad-hoc records will in some ways help to add to its breeding behavior. If you have any other records of these treeswifts to share, you can post it on the Singapore Bird Group’s Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

